BEWARE: DANGEROUS MOUNTAIN AHEAD

For a month I have spoken of the true appreciation of nature and what that can tell us about the human creatures attitudes, intentions and actions and it is clear that the human creature comes of second best on every count.

Yesterday, the first of May, I turned the corner with artificial intelligence and began by giving Dharma impressions of various direct aspects of human behavior that can be labeled kindly as absurd.

The photo above shows Siula Grande a mountain of the  Cordillera Huayhuash, in the Peruvin Andes. It poseses an altitude of 6344 m.

It is one of the ten mountains that is considered the most dangerous.

Now that is a strange designation is it not.  The idea, is that it is dangerous for human creatures, for I doubt that mountain goats feel threatened by its presence. In fact I doubt that a mountain goat would be intrigued with the idea of climbing to the top.

Is it that mountain goats have greater appreciation for correct behavior, for it is not at any point as far as I can tell interested in being the first to climb any mountain, with or without horns, climbing backwards or any other foolishness  that has little utility for its survival

It is not interested in climbing this or any other mountain because it is there. It is not interested in climbing this or other mountain to prove anything, and as far as television and media coverage is concerned I doubt that the highest climbing mountain goat would be news at all.

Similarly I doubt that there would be little attempt to risk lives sending a rescue party for a goat trapped in snow, who had lost its way or had fallen in a crevice.

Female goats I feel also have little interest in being the first of the goat distaff side to make the top.

Is it then that the human creature climbs these peaks because they are dangerous.  Wait a minute. What does that mean?

Do mountain climbers know something that we don’t know in terming these mountains dangerous. Is the human race in danger from an immanent attack of mountains.  Will they descend upon us.  Is there a possibility that a great mountain will just fall down upon us because it wants to see how low it can get?

I think not.

So why are they dangerous.

They do not threaten great harm.

Is it then that they are called dangerous by those who wish to put their lives in danger.  If that is so then we would better call them Dangerous Climbers, for not only do they put themselves in danger as they wish to overcome that danger, but they cause great danger to those who occasionally must rescue them.

I wonder if there would be some sort of thrill in shaving with a rusty razor blade or racing in front of a formula one car.  For some I suppose there might be, but fame and fortune do not accompany these acts and no one would buy a book entitled,  “I shaved with the ten top brands of rusty razor blades.”

Fame is not that easy to get.

Certainly the climbing genre will conclude that I have not understood them or worse, but I understand them too well.

Give me those creatures who live within their limits of survival as part of nature without any objectives of conquering it.

Sadly the alpine bear and the mountain wolves have disappeared.  I wonder if somehow I have misjudged and that they have been devoured by a dangerous mountain or perhaps it is because they are extinct because of the presence and demands of “non dangerous” human creatures with “non dangerous arms” and “non dangerous minds”

It is good that the mountain Lynx has been reintroduced to the Alps in small numbers, and the  Red and Roe deer as well as the Chamois still abound in the lower reaches.

I would rather keep my admiration for those and the small carnivores such as the Red Fox, Badger, Pine Marten, or Stoat that live in the lower forested areas, not to speak of  the Common and Nose-Horned Viper , the  lizards, frogs, toads, newts and salamanders.

Of course the birds range upon the upper reaches of these dangerous mountains and I feel  that they hold no fear, for the mountains are their home and they never certainly go higher than their nature dictates.

Now that is an interesting point. Does the human creature call a mountain dangerous because it is not easily conquered? Is his human nature such that he must live n the edge of danger so that he feels alive.

Does he need to see the majesty of a mountain from its summit and cannot see it from below. Or is it the thrill of conquering what is dangerous that is his ego aim.

Perhaps that is why man hunts dangerous animals, although I doubt that the rabbit can be considered dangerous.

Perhaps indeed that peak mountain view allows these climbers to appreciate nature and eliminate their tawdry lives for a moment.

It is a pity that they must label the mountain dangerous to achieve that for I assure them that the beautiful Alpenapollo butterfly, now very rare,   the magnificaent Alpine Long-Horned Beetle and the Burnet Moth which they may have passed on the way up could have brought them as close to nature as they would wish to get.

I admit that I must be confused, for I cannot understand why so many human creatures seek to understand nature by looking outside for they can best understand it by looking inside.

I seem to have led myself astray for my aim was to talk about Dangerous Mountains, but though I searched I couldn’t find one that really threatened any living thing, though I find many human creatures who are threatened by just being alive.



.

Leave a Reply

